His music

by Marie Jeanne Baeli

Pieces worked or composed by

Claude Debussy at Bichain
during the years 1901, 1902 et 1903

Many letters addressed to his publisher or to his friends, allows us to know precisely the work of the composer during his stays at Bichain and gives us the opportunity to enter his musical universe

 

The works cited in his letters are:

Pelléas et Mélisande,

lyrical drama in five acts, poetic text by Maurice Maeterlinck

Acte 3 -
00:00 / 00:00

In May 1901, Debussy received the promise that his opera Pelléas et Mélisande , , in progress since 1893, would be performed at the Opéra Comique in the next season, an event that will be celebrated with champagne at the home of the writer Colette and her husband Willy, rue de Courcelles. He starts work on writing the orchestral score

During the summer that he decided to spend part of his time in Bichain, he continued this heavy work to rest from the intense frequentation…  

"… of this little neurasthenic  Mélisande... " (letter to P. Louÿs dated September 2).

 

Ten years of work on this piece, the only opera composed by Debussy 

"...has remained without imitation. Claude Debussy had said it all in his own language." (Jean-François Gautier, Claude Debussy, La musique et le mouvant, Actes Sud 1997).

 

For a long time he had been looking for a poet who

" ...would say things halfway, who would allow me to graft my dream onto his, who would conceive characters whose story and home would be of no time and no place .... who would not argue but endure life and fate..."  (conversation with his teacher Ernest Guiraud around 1889, told by Maurice Emmanuel, student of the conservatory at the same time as Claude Debussy).

 

Debussy fell in love with Maeterlinck's text and was the first composer to use a poet's text as an opera libretto..

"Sublime music : Pélléas et Mélisande can be compared to nothing ." (André Boucourechliev, Debussy, La révolution subtile, Fayard 1998)

 

Ravel is the first to speak of genius:

"The musical work is an absolute masterpiece, the public doesn't understand anything about it " (Meg de Saint Marceaux, known at the time for her "salon" where fashionable artists met).

 

"I have to look for something else or I'm lost! " (Erik Satie, composer and friend of Debussy's).

 

I used, quite spontaneously moreover, a means which seems to me rather rare, that is to say silence..." (Claude Debussy, letter to Ernest Chausson, October 2 1893).

 

You had to look  for Wagner… 

I wanted music to have a freedom that it contains perhaps more than any art, not being limited to an exact reproduction of nature, but to the mysterious correspondences of nature and imagination." (Claude Debussy, Pourquoi j'ai écrit Pélléas, La Revue Blanche, April 1902).

 

First performance at the Opéra Comique on April 28 1902. Scandalous, but nevertheless successful in Europe and the United States.

 

Even today, this opera still arouses the keen interest of enthusiastic amateurs for this sublime music which has served so well  the confusing but strong text of Maeterlinck.

La Damoiselle Elue,

La Damoiselle Elue -
00:00 / 00:00

During the summer of 1902, exhausted by the 40 performances of his opera, he rested but nevertheless revised the orchestral score of La Damoiselle Élue, composed fourteen years earlier during his stay at the Villa Medici in Rome.

 

This work, described as poetry steeped in music by his contemporaries, was published by Durand with a cover by the painter Maurice Denis. The poem, sung to verses by Dante-Gabriel Rossetti, is in the purest Art Nouveau style.

 

A work of symbolist inspiration, made up of decorative curves and arabesques in the style of a group of English painters of that period who sought to reproduce the artistic purity of the Italian primitives, Raphael’s predecessors, the Pre-Raphaelites.

Maurice Denis ,

Sheet music cover,

1893

from the fantasy tale by Edgar Poe.

Le Diable dans le Beffroi,

From Bichain, he wrote to André Messager on September 7, 1903:

"I worked on the libretto of Le Diable dans le Beffroi (The devil in the belfry). When I return to Paris, I will read this to you.."

 

Considering that the most annoying thing is to start all over again, , he wanted - after Pélleas - to renew himself and, fascinated for many years by the world of Poe, so different from that of Maeterlinck, he took over, in Bichain, the writing of the scenario of  Le Diable :

Since Poe's imagination is the most vivid I know, it's imperative that I find the equivalent musical atmosphere."

 

Everyone knows this tale by Edgar Poe: a single character, almost, the devil who comes to strike a thirteenth knock at noon on the clock of the Dutch village, so grotesquely called vondervotteimittis (humorous transcription of the English words: "I wonder what time it is")

 

This project will remain at the draft stage:

"I don't think I will ever be able to complete any of these works. I write for myself alone, the impatience of others does not concern me."

Rhapsodie pour orchestre et saxophone

These ten minutes of music were commissioned by Elisa Hall, an American patron of the arts, of French origin and president of the Boston Orchestral Club. With great difficulty, he completed this work in August, just before composing the first measures of La Mer.

 

To Pierre Louÿs who was in Algeria in July 1903:                                    

"I'm sorry… For the past few days I've been the Man-who-works-on a-fantasy-for-alto-saxophone (say that three times without breathing...). Since this fantasy has been ordered, paid for, eaten for more than a year, it seems to me that I'm late? At first, I was having very little fun with it, then I couldn't have written you a letter neat enough. The saxophone is a reed animal, whose habits I know little about. Does it like the romantic sweetness of clarinets or the slightly rude irony of the sarrusophone (or contrabassoon)? At last I made him whisper melancholic phrases, under military drum rolls. The saxophone, like the Grand Duchess, must love the military... The whole thing is called Arabic Rhapsody... (Long live the Army all the same). You see how it's not boring in the countryside?         "

 

To Lilly in June 1903:

"Doesn't it seem indecent to you, a woman in love with a saxophone, whose lips suck the wooden mouthpiece of this ridiculous instrument? - It must surely be an old biddy that dresses like an umbrella."

Les Estampes

September 7, 1903 to Messager:

"I also wrote three piano pieces, the titles of which I especially like: Pagodes, La Soirée dans Grenade, Jardins sous la pluie (Pagodas, The Evening in Granada, Gardens in the Rain). When you can't afford to travel, you have to make up for it with imagination... "

 

Travel to the East and North Africa was fashionable among the writers and intellectuals of the time, all wealthy friends of Debussy. They wrote to him and recounted him their travels: Pierre Louÿs, Pierre-Jean Toulet, Maurice Curnonsky, Victor Segalen, André Gide.

 

Staying in Bichain, he replied to Pierre Louÿs in July:

"…the sun that sets on the hillsides of Bichain is not the same as the one that falls asleep on the white terraces of Biskra..."

 

Imaginary travel books, they inaugurate Claude Debussy's great creative period for the piano... (Alfred Cortot, La musique française de piano).     

 

He wanted to render in these pieces the evocative and exotic qualities of Japanese prints.

 

Pagode, evocation of the East, reminiscences of the music of Java discovered at the Universal Exhibition of 1889 (pentatonic scales + western harmonies).

 

La Soirée dans Grenade, with its "Habanera" movement evoking Spain, "......it is amazing when you consider  that this music was written by a foreigner guided almost solely by the vision of his genius" (the spanish composer Manuel de Falla).

 

Jardins sous la pluie, a stream of droplets where the light plays, quoting a childish round, We will no longer go to the woods...

"The luminous sumptuousness of the tone contrasts with the naivety of the childlike roundness and envelops the distant notes with mystery, the modest, hesitant notes, like the precious drops of a spring rain through the leaves"  (Pierre Boulez, Relevés d’apprenti, Seuil, 1966).

 

Testimony of a resident of Bichain interviewed by Louis Pasteur Vallery-Radot:

"Mr Debussy seemed strange to me. You could see him leaving his house, walking along the road and then suddenly running back to the piano... One day, after playing us I don't know what, he told us: "the rain on the tiles is what inspired me! "

 

"Debussy has played his new piano pieces for me again, a copy of which he will send me at the end of the month. What a coincidence, I told him that these pieces reminded me of Turner's paintings, and he replied that precisely before composing them, he had spent a long time in the Turner Hall in London!" (Ricardo Viñes, pianist).

 

They were immediately a great success, and have been part of the repertoire of all seasoned pianists ever since.

Jardins sous la pluie -
00:00 / 00:00

La Mer

De l'aube à midi sur la mer -
00:00 / 00:00

Cover of the score reproducing

The Hokusai Wave

Editors Durand & Fils

On September 12, Debussy wrote from Bichain to Durand, that he worked on three symphonic sketches based on many memories:

1. De l’aube à midi sur la mer (from dawn to noon on the sea)

2. Jeux de vagues (Wave games)

3. Dialogue du vent et de la mer (Dialogue beetween wind and sea)

The composition of this tryptic will continue in Jersey: "The sea was very good for me: she showed me all her dresses", then in Dieppe and Paris from August 1903 to March 1905.

 

I - De l’aube à midi sur la mer

It is a continuous progression: the very movement of the waves in warm sounds and rhythmic flamboyances to end up in a burst of light (noon burst with brass instruments)..

 

II - Jeux de vagues

The most beautiful of the three movements "a sound pulverization such that musical time becomes almost elusive." (Jean Barraqué, Debussy, Seuil, 1994).

He exerted a great fascination on the musicians of the 20th century by a new way of treating the orchestra: the timbre (instrumental sound groups) becomes the main element of the music and, in the oriental way, can generate itself:

": the strings set the scene, the woodwinds draw the arabesques of the wind and the waves, the trumpet and the horns impart a more imperious rhythm and a mysterious color, the harps symbolize the liquid element and the glockenspiel, the plays of light."

(Revue Analyse Musicale, 1986)    

"Moving or undefined contours, flexible and varied rhythms, a clear majority of soft dynamic nuances, fluid and clear orchestration, with divided strings and pure timbres (flute, oboe), the harp nonchalantly underlines the liquid suppleness of the joints, the feline charm of the harmonic shifts" (Stefan Jarociński, Debussy, impressionism and symbolism, Seuil, 1971).

 

III - Dialogue du vent et de la mer

From Dieppe, to its publisher Jacques Durand, summer 1904 :

"I would have liked to finish La Mer here, but I still have to perfect the orchestra, which is as tumultuous and varied as...the sea!"

 

It is a succession of oppositions, Debussy's "most accomplished and visionary work"  (André Boucourechliev, Debussy, la révolution subtile, Fayard, 1998.)

 

In 1908, Debussy was led to successfully direct his work himself. On this occasion, the critic Willy (Gauthier-Villars) wrote in the magazine Comoedia, on January 20, 1908 :

"They were, for an indeterminable length of time, screams of wild joy, crackling of clenched palms, recalls and demented cries. Debussy crossed the forest of music stands ten times to come and take the blower's hole to witness his emotional gratitude; from time to time, a whistle, violent and energetic like a departure signal given by a conductor, would set the triumphal convoy in motion again, warming the zeal of tired biceps and burning hands. To satisfy these delirious music lovers, we had to bring back one last time, from the staircase where he was rushing, the triumphant man already dressed in his overcoat and wearing the bowler hat which, in our modern costume, plays the role of the ancient laurels."

 

Erik Satie's humor about the first movement of De l’aube à midi sur la mer :

"There is a nice moment between half past eleven and a quarter to noon! "

© 2023 by The Berkshire Trio. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • facebook-square
  • Twitter Square
  • Google Square
  • youtube-square

Légendes :

 

  • Maurice Denis, couverture de la partition de La Damoiselle élue, 1893

 

  • Portrait de Rosalie Debussy par Lucien Monod, Dessin aux trois crayons, 1914
     

  • Dédicace : « A Lilo, Lucien Monod, 1914 », Musée Claude Debussy, Saint- Germain-en-Laye

 

  • Maison que le couple avait louée au 28 route de Montereau (actuellement la RN6), photographiée en septembre 1999

 

  • Pelléas et Mélisande, extraits de la Revue Le Théâtre, juin 1902, Manuscrit autographe de Claude Debussy, Bibliothèque Nationale de France
                  

  • Couverture de la partition de La Mer  reproduisant La Vague d’Hokusai, Editeurs Durand & Fils.

 

  • Manuscrit autographe de La Mer 
    De l’aube à midi sur la mer, 1er mouvement, 1re page                                       
    Jeux de vagues, 2ème mouvement, 1re page
    Dialogue du vent et de la mer, 3ème mouvement, 1re page

       Bibliothèque Nationale de France
 

  • Manuscrit autographe des Estampes, Page de couverture 
    Pagodes  1re page.
    Soirée dans Grenade, 1re page
    Jardins sous la pluie, 1re page.                                                                           
    Bibliothèque Nationale de Franc

Les Oeuvres

par Marie Jeanne Baeli

Les œuvres travaillées ou composées

par Claude Debussy à Bichain

pendant les années 1901, 1902 et 1903

Un courrier  abondant,  adressé à son éditeur ou à ses amis, nous permet de connaître avec précision le travail du compositeur pendant ses séjours à Bichain et nous donne l’occasion d’entrer dans son univers musical.

 

Les œuvres citées dans ses lettres sont :

Pelléas et Mélisande,

drame lyrique en cinq actes, texte poétique de Maurice Maeterlinck

Acte 3 -
00:00 / 00:00

Au mois de mai 1901, Debussy reçoit la promesse que son opéra Pelléas et Mélisande, en chantier depuis 1893, sera représenté à l’Opéra Comique à la saison prochaine, événement qui sera fêté au champagne chez l'écrivain Colette et son mari Willy, rue de Courcelles. Il se met à l’œuvre pour l’écriture de la partition d’orchestre.

Pendant l’été qu’il décide de passer en partie à Bichain, il continuera ce lourd travail. Fin août, pour se reposer de l’intense fréquentation

"… de cette petite neurasthénique Mélisande... " (lettre à P. Louÿs du 2 septembre).

 

Dix années de travail pour cette œuvre, le seul opéra composé par Debussy 

"...est resté  sans imitation. Claude Debussy avait de lui-même tout dit dans son langage." (Jean-François Gautier, Claude Debussy, La musique et le mouvant, Actes Sud 1997).

 

Il avait longtemps cherché un poète qui

" ...disant les choses à demi me permettra de greffer mon rêve sur le sien ; qui concevra des personnages dont l’histoire et la demeure ne seront d’aucun temps et d’aucun lieu .... qui ne discutent pas mais subissent la vie et le sort..."  (conversation avec son professeur Ernest Guiraud vers 1889, racontée par Maurice Emmanuel, élève du conservatoire en même temps que Claude Debussy).

 

Debussy eut le « coup de foudre » pour le texte  de Maeterlinck et fut le premier compositeur à utiliser un texte de poète comme livret d’opéra.

"Musique sublime : Pélléas et Mélisande n’est comparable à rien." (André Boucourechliev, Debussy, La révolution subtile, Fayard 1998)

 

Ravel est le premier à parler de génie :

"L’œuvre musicale est un chef d’œuvre absolu, le public n’y comprend rien" (Meg de Saint Marceaux, connue à l’époque pour son « salon » où se rencontraient les artistes à la mode).

 

"Je dois chercher autre chose ou je suis perdu !" (Erik Satie, compositeur et ami de Debussy).

 

"Je me suis servi, tout spontanément d’ailleurs, d’un moyen qui me paraît assez rare, c’est à dire du silence..." (Claude Debussy, lettre à Ernest Chausson, 2 octobre 1893).

 

Il fallait chercher après Wagner… 

"Je voulais à la musique une liberté qu’elle contient peut-être plus que n’importe quel art, n’étant pas bornée à une reproduction exacte de la nature, mais aux correspondances mystérieuses de la nature et de l’imagination." (Claude Debussy, Pourquoi j’ai écrit Pélléas, La Revue Blanche, avril 1902).

 

Première représentation à l’Opéra Comique le 28 Avril 1902. Scandale, mais malgré tout succès en Europe et aux Etats-Unis.

 

Cet opéra suscite aujourd’hui encore un engouement d’amateurs enthousiastes pour cette musique sublime qui a si bien servi le texte déroutant, mais fort, de Maeterlinck.

La Damoiselle Elue,

La Damoiselle Elue -
00:00 / 00:00

Au cours de l’été 1902, épuisé par les 40 représentations de son opéra, il se repose mais révise pourtant la partition d’orchestre de La Damoiselle Élue, composée quatorze années auparavant pendant son séjour à la villa Médicis à Rome.

 

Cette œuvre qualifiée de poésie trempée dans de la musique par ses contemporains, parut chez Durand avec une couverture du peintre Maurice Denis. Le poème, chanté sur des vers de Dante-Gabriel Rossetti, est du plus pur style Art Nouveau.

 

Œuvre d’inspiration symboliste, faite toute de courbes et arabesques décoratives bien dans le style d’un groupe de peintres anglais de cette époque qui cherchent à reproduire la pureté artistique des primitifs italiens, prédécesseurs de Raphaël, les Préraphaélites.

Maurice Denis,

Couverture de la partition,

1893

d’après le conte fantastique d’Edgar Poe

Le Diable dans le Beffroi,

De Bichain, il écrit à André Messager le 7 septembre 1903 :

"J’ai travaillé au livret du Diable dans le Beffroi. Quand je reviendrai à Paris, je vous lirai cela."

 

Considérant que la chose la plus fâcheuse est de se recommencer, il voulait - après Pélleas - se renouveler et, fasciné depuis de nombreuses années par le monde de Poe, si différent de celui de Maeterlinck, il reprend à Bichain l’écriture du scénario du Diable :

"L’imagination de Poe étant la plus vive que je connaisse, il faut absolument que j’en trouve l’équivalent musical."

 

Tout le monde connaît ce conte d’Edgar Poe : un seul personnage, ou presque, le diable qui vient frapper à midi un treizième coup à l’horloge du bourg hollandais, si grotesquement appelé Vondervotteimittis (transcription humoristique des mots anglais : «  I wonder what time it is », je me demande l’heure qu’il est).

 

Ce projet restera au stade de l’ébauche :

"Je pense que jamais je n’arriverai à mener à bout aucune de ces œuvres. J’écris pour moi seul, l’impatience des autres ne me préoccupe pas."

Rapsodie pour orchestre et saxophone

Ces dix minutes de musique furent l’objet d’une commande par Elisa Hall, mécène américaine d’origine française, présidente de l’Orchestral Club de Boston. Avec de grandes difficultés, il termine ce travail en août, juste avant de composer les premières mesures de La Mer.

 

A Pierre Louÿs qui se trouvait en Algérie en juillet 1903 :                                    

"Excuse-moi... Depuis quelques jours je suis l’Homme-qui-travaille-à-une-fantaisie-pour-saxophone-alto-en-mi bémol (dis un peu ça trois fois sans respirer…) Etant donné que cette fantaisie est commandée, payée, mangée depuis plus d’un an, il me semble que je suis en retard ? D’abord ça ne m’amusait que très peu, puis je n’aurais pas pu t’écrire une lettre assez soignée. Le saxophone est un animal à anche, dont je connais mal les habitudes. Aime-t-il la douceur romantique des clarinettes ou l’ironie un peu grossière du sarrusophone (ou contre-basson) ? Enfin je l’ai fait murmurer des phrases mélancoliques, sous des roulements de tambours militaires. Le saxophone comme la Grande-Duchesse, doit aimer les militaires... Le tout s’appelle Rapsodie arabe ... (vive l’Armée tout de même). Tu vois que l’on ne s’ennuie pas à la campagne ?"

 

A Lilly en juin 1903 :

"Ça ne te paraît pas indécent, une femme amoureuse d’un saxophone, dont les lèvres sucent le bec en bois de ce ridicule instrument ? – Ça doit être sûrement une vieille taupe qui s’habille comme un parapluie."

Les Estampes

Le 7 septembre 1903 à Messager :

"J’ai écrit aussi trois morceaux de piano dont j’aime surtout les titres que voici : Pagodes, La Soirée dans Grenade, Jardins sous la pluie. Quand on a pas les moyens de se payer des voyages, il faut y suppléer par l’imagination... "

 

Les voyages en Orient et en Afrique du Nord étaient alors à la mode chez les écrivains et intellectuels de l’époque, tous amis fortunés de Debussy. Ils lui écrivaient et racontaient leurs voyages : Pierre Louÿs, Pierre-Jean Toulet, Maurice Curnonsky, Victor Segalen, André Gide.

 

Resté à Bichain, il répondait à Pierre Louÿs en juillet :

"… le soleil qui se couche sur les côteaux de Bichain n’est pas le même que celui qui s’endort sur la blancheur des terrasses de Biskra..."

 

Carnets de route imaginaires, elles inaugurent la grande période créatrice de Claude Debussy pour le piano… (Alfred Cortot, La musique française de piano).

 

Il souhaitait rendre dans ces pièces les qualités évocatrices et exotiques des estampes japonaises :

 

Pagode, évocation de l’Orient, réminiscences de la musique de Java découverte à l’Exposition Universelle de 1889 (gammes pentatoniques + harmonies occidentales)

 

La Soirée dans Grenade, avec son mouvement de « Habanera » évoquant l’Espagne, "...elle tient du prodige quand on pense que cette musique fut écrite par un étranger guidé presque par la seule vision de son génie" (le compositeur espagnol Manuel de Falla).

 

Jardins sous la pluie, un ruissellement de gouttelettes où joue la lumière, citant une ronde enfantine "Nous n’irons plus aux bois...".

"La somptuosité lumineuse du ton contraste avec la naïveté de la ronde enfantine et enveloppe de mystère les notes lointaines, les notes pudiques, hésitantes, comme les précieuses gouttes d’une pluie de printemps à travers les feuilles"  (Pierre Boulez, Relevés d’apprenti, Seuil, 1966).

 

Témoignage d’un habitant de Bichain interrogé par Louis Pasteur Vallery-Radot :

"Monsieur Debussy me semblait bizarre. On le voyait sortir de sa maison, marcher sur la route et puis tout d’un coup revenir sur ses pas en courant pour se mettre au piano... Un jour il nous dit, après nous avoir joué je ne sais plus quoi : c’est la pluie sur les carreaux qui m’a inspiré ça ! "

 

"Debussy m’a à nouveau fait entendre ses nouvelles pièces de piano, dont il m’enverra une copie à la fin du mois. Quel hasard, je lui ai dit que ces pièces me faisaient penser à des tableaux de Turner et il m’a répondu que précisément, avant de les composer, il avait passé un long moment dans la salle des Turner à Londres !" (Ricardo Viñes, pianiste).

 

Elles eurent immédiatement un grand succès et font partie depuis lors du répertoire de tous les pianistes chevronnés.

Jardins sous la pluie -
00:00 / 00:00

La Mer

De l'aube à midi sur la mer -
00:00 / 00:00

Couverture de la partition reproduisant

La Vague d’Hokusai

Editeurs Durand & Fils

Le 12 Septembre, Debussy écrit de Bichain à Durand, qu’il travaille d’après de nombreux souvenirs à trois esquisses symphoniques :

1. Mer belle aux îles Sanguinaires (qui deviendra De l’aube à midi sur la mer)

2. Jeux de vagues

3. Le vent fait danser la mer (qui deviendra Dialogue du vent et de la mer)

 

La composition de ce tryptique se poursuivra à Jersey : "La mer a été très bien pour moi : elle m’a montré toutes ses robes", puis à Dieppe et Paris d’août 1903 à mars 1905.

 

I - De l’aube à midi sur la mer

C’est une progression continuelle : le mouvement même des vagues en chaudes sonorités et flamboyances rythmiques pour aboutir à un jaillissement de lumière (éclatement de midi aux cuivres).

 

II - Jeux de vagues

Le plus beau des trois mouvements "une pulvérisation sonore telle que le temps musical en devient presque insaisissable" (Jean Barraqué, Debussy, Seuil, 1994).

Il a exercé une grande fascination sur les musiciens du 20ème siècle, par une nouvelle manière de traiter l’orchestre : le timbre (groupes sonores instrumentaux) devient le principal élément de la musique et, à la manière orientale, peut s’engendrer elle-même :

"Les cordes plantent le décor, les bois dessinent les arabesques du vent et des vagues, la trompette et les cors impriment un rythme plus impérieux et une couleur mystérieuse, les harpes symbolisent l’élément liquide et le glockenspiel, les jeux de lumière."

(Revue Analyse Musicale, 1986)    

"Contours mouvants ou indéfinis, rythmes flexibles et variés, nette majorité de nuances dynamiques douces, orchestration fluide et claire, avec des cordes divisées et des timbres purs (flûte, hautbois), la harpe souligne nonchalamment la souplesse liquide des articulations, le charme félin des glissements harmoniques" (Stefan Jarociński, Debussy, impressionnisme et symbolisme, Seuil, 1971).

 

III - Dialogue du vent et de la mer

De Dieppe, à son éditeur Jacques Durand, été 1904 :

"J’aurais voulu terminer La Mer ici, mais il me reste à en parfaire l’orchestre qui est tumultueux et varié comme...la mer !"

 

C’est une succession d’oppositions, l’œuvre de Debussy "la plus accomplie et la plus visionnaire"  (André Boucourechliev, Debussy, la révolution subtile, Fayard, 1998.)

 

En 1908, Debussy fût amené à diriger lui-même avec succès son œuvre. A cette occasion, le critique Willy (Gauthier-Villars) écrit dans la revue Comoedia, le 20 Janvier 1908 :

"Ce furent, pendant une durée impossible à déterminer, des hurlements d’allégresse sauvage, des crépitements de paumes heurtées, des rappels et des cris déments. Debussy traversa dix fois la forêt des pupitres pour venir prendre le trou du souffleur à témoin de sa gratitude émue ; de temps à autre, un coup de sifflet, violent et énergique comme un signal de départ donné par un chef de train, remettait en marche le convoi triomphal, réchauffant le zèle des biceps fatigués et des mains cuisantes. Pour satisfaire ces mélomanes délirants, on dû ramener une dernière fois, de l’escalier où il se précipitait, le triomphateur déjà vêtu de son pardessus et coiffé du chapeau melon qui, dans notre costume moderne, joue le rôle des lauriers antiques."

 

Trait d’humour d’Erik Satie à propos du premier mouvement De l’aube à midi sur la mer :

"Il y a un joli moment entre onze heures et demie et midi moins le quart ! "